Log in

No account? Create an account

Harlan Ellison, Grand Master

I am delighted to share the news that SFWA has named Harlan Ellison as their next Grand Master.

From the official press release at http://sfwa.org/news/06aeagm.htm:

Since his first sale, "Glowworm," to Infinity Science Fiction in 1956, Harlan Ellison has shaped and sometimes re-shaped modern science fiction. As a writer and as an anthologist, his influence, though sometimes controversial, has been vast. He's won a remarkable seven Hugo Awards, plus three Nebula Awards, many script-writing awards for his television work, an Edgar Award from the Mystery Writers of America, and various World Fantasy Awards.

Always a champion for writers, Harlan led the fight against AOL with his "Kick Internet Piracy" campaign to hold internet service providers responsible for pirate sites. He also helped to launch the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund.

Also, William F. Nolan has been chosen as Author Emeritus. Congratulations to both!

(The presentations of these honors will take place at the Nebula Awards Ceremony in Arizona in 2006.)


Congrats to Harlan. I note a bit of coincidence that he was a GoH at a Worldcon in Arizona also.
And didn't he protest some Arizona policy at the time by refusing to stay in the hotel? So he pitched a tent?
Arizona's failure to recognize Martin Luther King, Jr.'s Birthday. He drove in in a camper and brought along his own bottled water, etc. so he wouldn't have to spend any money in Arizona.
No, I believe Harlan's gripe at the time was Arizona not having ratified the ERA (Equal Rights Amendment for the young folk).

I believe you are correct. My mistake. I was thinking MJK was the wrong time frame.
Couldn't happen to a snarkier guy :P I'm glad he holds by his principles, and (as a reader) salute him.
Harlan was the first real SF I ever read, and I adore his work. (I ignore the fact that he's insulted me twice--once while I was complimenting Susan, his wife!) He certainly deserves GM status, though it'll probably make him an even more obnoxious little git.
Ah, and now catching up, after my snide pre-announcement comment in your other thread. ;)

I had a feeling it was Harlan. Much better choice than the ones I would have wanted to throw forks at.
He wasn't already? :-)

December 2016

Powered by LiveJournal.com